Chinua Hawk – A Beautifully Complicated Life (2012)

Posted by The Zodiac | Music Reviews | Thursday 8 March 2012 8:59 am

Purchase Music:

Best Buy



A Beautifully Complicated Life (2012)

Release Date: March 20, 2012
Rating: [rating=5]

Sometimes you need to sit back and relax to some music that will calm the spirits and massage the stresses of the day away through melodic sounds and smooth vocals.  Enter Chinua Hawk, the New Jersey crooner who has placed his own niche through old-fashioned hard work, God-given vocal skills, and an ear for a great sound.  See, Chinua has been singing since the days in church at a young age and not much as changed on that front.  What has changed is his business sense and ability to feel his music and write it accordingly for each listener to feel it as well.

His newest release, A Beautifully Complicated Life, has found a balance between blues, pop, R&B, jazz, country and mainstream without jumbling each sound into each other.¬¨‚Ć The result is a flowing musical combination that tells a story through new songs and re-mixes of older ones.¬¨‚Ć It’s his perfect combination and endless search for the right time that gives you the feel of what you’ve been missing in music.¬¨‚Ć The experience of listening to songs like “Back To Life” or “Nickel To Spare” gives you a calming effect without falling asleep.¬¨‚Ć Chinua’s band perfectly blends itself into his voice giving you time to pause and reflect not only on the music but on the lyrics.

If you’ve never seen Chinua Hawk live, then be sure to catch him as he promotes this album.¬¨‚Ć The layers on such songs as “Nothing Compares 2 U” or “After The Rain” puts his voice so flawlessly on top of his own melody, it almost gives his voice it’s own note along with the instruments.¬¨‚Ć You don’t even hear it at first as your nodding at the guitars playing.¬¨‚Ć I mean, “Nothing Compares 2 U” actually mixes a country twang with soul.¬¨‚Ć It’s an interesting combination that works and shows a merging of two sounds that mesh in it’s most unique form.

This album is incredible and I’m not saying that as a friend of Chinua’s, but as a critic, hip-hopper, and someone who appreciates the time it takes to make an album you’re proud enough to release to the public.

1 Back To Life
2 One Man World
3 Nickel To Spare
4 On My Way
5 Careless Whisper
6 After The Rain
7 Sunflower
8 Sailing
9 Nothing Compares 2 U
10 If I Could
11 You’re All I’ve Got
12 Let’s Stay Together

Personnel: Chinua Hawk (vocals); Chris Blackwell (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Joseph Patrick Moore (strings, keyboards, double bass, upright bass, electric bass, fretless bass, loops); John Corrozza (accordion, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, organ, keyboards); John Carrozza (keyboards); Yonrico Scott (drums, percussion); Jarrett Johnson, Chantae Cann (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: John Corrozza; John Carrozza.
Recording information: Blue Canoe Digital Studios; Gloria`s Basement Studios Relocated; Green Room Recording Studios; Music Farm Studios; October Way Studios; Studio Magic; Virtuo Sound Studios.
Photographer: Stephen Hunton.
Arrangers: Jarrett Johnson; Joseph Patrick Moore.